Dear Pregnant Me

If only I had known …

Dear Pregnant Me,

You will get emotional.

You will crave meat (even though you’re a vegetarian).

Take that back you will crave McDonald’s cheeseburgers.

You will have the biggest scare of your life at 9 weeks.

You will survive through it with a healthy baby.

When your see your baby for the first time your life changes.

When you hear your baby’s heart beat yours will stop.

You end up in the hospital … a lot. But you will be okay.

You will get extremely cranky when its summer time and 100 degrees outside.

You will make it through the struggle of giving up caffeine.

People will judge you.  But at the end of the day you’ll learn not to care.

The most important people in your life will come around and be there.

You will learn pregnancy is hard.  But it’s worth it, I promise.

You will learn 10 months will seem like forever but in fact it’s not.

No matter how much you wish for a girl you’ll have a boy.

Boys are better.

You can never prepare for what is about to come.  No matter how much you try.

People will try to touch your belly…at school, at work, at the grocery store.

People will tell you you’re fat…clearly they know how to make a pregnant woman feel great.

You will have early on contractions and fear your baby won’t make it to 36 weeks.

He will.

In fact you will be induce.

You will be forced into an emergency C-section.

Schedule a C-section from the start.

Castro oil does NOT work, in fact its gross don’t try it!

You will give birth to a beautiful healthy baby boy.

You will go home from the hospital on your birthday with the best gift ever.

A beautiful son.

Love, Me

If only I had known … you live and learn.  The joy of the unknown is learning and growing along the way with every experience.

10 responses to “Dear Pregnant Me

  • sharonmarkovsky

    Jessica…this is the best blog I have read in many years! I love it. I would say many of the same things to myself.

    Thank you for this!!!
    Sharon (fellow mom of a little boy!)
    http://www.sharonmarkovsky.com

  • jessplassmeyer

    Thank you Sharon that means a lot to me!! No matter how much I wanted a little girl I am fully determined now that little boys are the best 🙂

  • Courtney

    I wished for you to have a boy! Remember I told you boys are better 🙂

    I love you Jess and I will need to re-read this when I get pregnant because I don’t think I will ever be as strong as you to be able to handle what you went through!

  • jessplassmeyer

    Court – thanks so much!! Boys are better! And you’ll make it through your pregnancy I will help you every step of the way! Be ready for McDonald’s cheeseburgers haha<3

  • Jessica

    I’m going to have to disagree on this one because I have two girls and no boys so I say GIRLS are better!

    So many things we wish we could go back and tell ourselves when we were pregnant. I hated when people would try and touch my belly when I was pregnant, so weird. I told everyone at my work when I was pregnant to keep their hands to themselves unless they asked and I responded with a yes. Maybe I was a little cranky then but I was also carrying around a huge, kicking bowling ball.

  • jessplassmeyer

    haha I would agree with you on your girls, they are so adorable and sound pretty darn amazing!! The worse part of being pregnant was people touching my belly, I would tell everyone how I didn’t like and in the same sentance they would touch and be like yea don’t you hate when people touch it that you don’t want touching and I used to think HELLO I DON’T WANT YOU touching it!!! Next pregnancy I will wear a sign, yes I am pregnant but do not touch my belly 🙂

  • multitaskingmumma

    Beautiful.
    What a gift they are

  • Michelle Fox

    Your writing style is so entertaining, yet so genuine. I really enjoyed this post. I am not a mom yet, but I plan to be someday, and it is neat to read about all the “fun” things I have to look forward to.
    -Michelle

  • jessplassmeyer

    Michelle – thank you! Being a mom is great, like nothing else in the world!!

Leave a Reply

