What Keeps You Going?

What keeps you going when you feel like you can’t do anymore?  Let me give a quick rundown of my life, I work a career job m-f, go to school m-th, and work a second job Sunday nights. Oh an somewhere in there manage to find time to raise my son and do all the daily house chores and life errands.  So when Sunday night rolls again and I am exhausted and I have just gotten home from being on my feet for five hours and I still homework what do I do?

Well lets be honest, I want to crawl in bed with son and dream of how fast the hours pass until morning comes and start it all over again.  But instead …

I get home and kiss my son and look at how beautiful he looks sleeping.  Then I have a feeling come over me, a feeling of remembering why I was put on this earth…to have to blessing of being his mother.  So I go into the other room and somehow manage to get my homework done, the last load of laundry put away, my outfit picked out for tomorrow, tomorrows dinner ready to be put in the Crockpot in the morning all before crawling into bed.

I used to wonder how mothers could do it, but I understand now…I keep going because I must, because I have an angel that I am living for now.  So when days get hard, and tired becomes an understatement I just look at my sweet son and remember that anything is possible and somehow a new strength comes over me.

What keeps you going when you think you can’t do anymore?

5 responses to “What Keeps You Going?

  • Cheng Chih Lin

    How beautiful he is! This post reminded me of a movie” Life as we know it”. Baby makes life tougher but enriched. For me people whom I love give me power and make me keep going; think what they said to me and have done to me makes me to move on.

  • jessplassmeyer

    Cheng- That is exactly how it is babies make life much harder but the joy they bring out ways anything hard!! Thank you for the comment!

  • Jessica

    What keeps me going is that I love my family and they need me. So I do what I have to do to make sure that they are taken care and then I nap on the weekends and let daddy take charge for a couple hours (although usually he falls asleep too once the little one is asleep).

  • jessplassmeyer

    Jessica – Learning to be a mother is definatly a new task but you are so right at the end of the day what matters is how much i love my family and everything I spend my time doing is for them. And I must say daddy is amazing and lets me nap … sometimes a lot 🙂

  • Two Tiny Blue Lines

    I don’t know how you do it all. I work two part-time jobs (about 20 hours a week) and am taking a “break” from my Masters..aka I haven’t gone back since I had my second daughter. I just haven’t been able to kick it back into high gear. It’s admirable to see you handle it all, kudos to you! Maybe I’ll follow your blog and hope some of that ambition rubs off on me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

