I’m a Parent?

From the time I found out I was pregnant people started preaching to me you need to start realizing you aren’t living for you anymore but for your child, you will start to change your way of living because now it’s about what’s best for him. By the time I was six months pregnant I didn’t get it, I was merely nodding my head saying oh yea I know what you mean.  Was I a bad parent because I hadn’t changed my life decisions to be for my son yet?

So here I was supposed to be starting my last year of my MBA program and I was six and half months pregnant, what was I supposed to do?  Do I take a leave of absence and come back after I had my baby, but would I really come back?  My baby was due two weeks before finals, how could I possibly take my finals when I was going to be in labor? Would my teachers even let me miss school?

I spent the whole summer going back and forth, do I keep going with school or do I take a break?  I was in and out of the hospital all summer with pregnancy issues could I really make it through four months of school and maintain my 4.0 GPA? As the summer came to an end I realized that this was a decision that needed to make now, it no longer was a decision that I could make down the road.

I took a step back and realized it is no longer about what is easy for me or what is best for me.  Now my life was going to be about what is best for my son, what is going to make his life easy?  For as long as I can remember I have always said that I would get my Master’s Degree even if I never used it, so what kind of parent would I be if I just gave up on my dream because it got tough?

I then realized I was growing up, I was becoming a parent and I didn’t even know it. I didn’t know how I was going to full work time, go to school, and prepare for a baby but hey I’ve made it through everyday so far so I will continue to find a way to do it all. You don’t realize how much you are able to accomplish until you push yourself, you don’t realize you are becoming a parent before child is even here until you are forced to make a big decision. Doing it all is tough … but it’s worth it all when I hold my son.

 When did that moment hit you when you said, wow I am becoming a parent?

4 responses to “I’m a Parent?

  • Tweets that mention I’m a Parent? | Being a Mom and Still Doing it All -- Topsy.com

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bret L Simmons, jessplassmeyer. jessplassmeyer said: i'm a parent? http://wp.me/p1grDO-2M […]

  • Jessica D Torres

    With my first child I worked full-time and went to school full-time. It was so hard, I would come home from work and school and be exhausted and she just wanted to play and spend time with me. So I played and I spent time with her and it was the best time. I was pregnant with my second child during my first two semesters at UNR and it was difficult. But I decided to stay in school because I had made a committment to myself to get my degree and I want my kids to know that when they grow up they can accomplish anything they want to. This comment is a little long winded but the point I am trying to make is that it is tough to be a mom and still do all of the other things we want to do in life but it is worth it and the the time with our children is precious.

  • liz

    honestly, it was probably a not-very-good moment. 🙂 we had a rough start with our first, which involved an ER visit at 3 days old.

  • jessplassmeyer

    Jessica – thank you for sharing your story! Sometimes it just seems easier to take a break from school, but then would I really go back, probably not! So even though it’s hard sometimes I just have to remember its worth it all in the end!

    Liz – sorry to hear that, ER visits are no fun! My poor baby was sick at a week old too, but thanksfully he is much better now 🙂

Leave a Reply

