Being a Mom is Tough … Sometimes (This one is for you Moni!)

This one is for my sister…

I have a younger sister who is my best friend, but it hasn’t always been that way … we used to get along and tolerate each other simply because we were family and we had to. Now I don’t think I could function without her, plain and simple my life does not make sense without her. It showed me as you grow up so do your relationships and the role people play in your life.

This week was a tough week for my sister; better put the last 9 months have been tough for my sister. Her husband was deployed in Afghanistan, oh and I failed to mention my sister is a wonderful mother to my adorable 17 month old nephew, so do the math … my nephew was without his father during the ages of 9 months till now and my sister was without her husband. He was supposed to be home Sunday morning, which became Sunday afternoon, which became Sunday evening, which became Monday morning, which turned into Monday night at 10pm.

I watched from the sidelines the last 9 months and saw how this 22 year old stepped up to the plate and became this strong woman. She had to deal with the unknown of knowing where her husband was and if he was okay, she had to raise her son and teach him everything he has learned, she had to stay strong when all she wanted to do was fall into her bed crying. I look at my nephew now who just melts my heart and see how great of a parent my sister has been.

It has taught me that being a mom is not always easy; it’s not always the fun and joy people see from the outside. Sometimes you have to be strong and deal with things that seem impossible because you now are living for someone else, someone who is watching your every move, listening to your every word, and counting on you to make everything okay.

So a huge thank you to my baby sister who has showed me the real strength it takes to be a mother, no words can describe how incredible she is. I know I will have bumps in the road of motherhood and there will be days where sometimes things seem so hard, but when I look at my son I know everything will be worth it!

What are the hardest obstacles you have faced being a mom?

8 responses to “Being a Mom is Tough … Sometimes (This one is for you Moni!)

  • Brittany

    Doing it alone and keeping a smile on your face for your baby is the toughest thing in the world, especially when your struggling with grown up issues and emotions.

    I know the feeling all too well and I applaud any mom raising a healthy, respectable young man or woman in this world. Alone or not, it’s a tough job and definently not for the weak.

    • jessplassmeyer

      Brittany, I completely agree… Being a mom is not for the weak… No matter how much help you have or how little you have raising a child is a tough job! Thankfully it’s worth every bit of it 🙂

  • Gian Sorreta

    “… as you grow up so do your relationships and the role people play in your life.”

    I completely agree.

  • jessplassmeyer

    G- funny as you grow up how things you once heard start to make sense! 🙂

  • Courtney Dolliver

    Jess,

    You and your sister are so inspiring to everyone out there trying to accomplish their goals and staying strong when obstacles get in the way. It is amazing to see how much you have grown in just the past year and you have become such an amazing person that I am blessed to have in my life. This story made my teary-eyed because I always thought I was a strong person, but I don’t think I could do what you and your sister do every day!

    Love,
    Courtney

  • jessplassmeyer

    Court- Thanks for the sweet comment, you are so amazing and have help me through the past year! 🙂

  • Monica Ferguson

    Now I’m dealing with seperating Bryan and Corbett so I can have alone time with both of them hahaha, it’s like Corbett doesn’t even know Bryan was gone for so long.

  • jessplassmeyer

    Moni,
    Corbett cant help that hes so cute and everyone wants to spend time with him! Including auntie 🙂

Leave a Reply

