Does Maj (Grandma) Get Enough Credit?

My entire life I have said I will know I am successful when I have made my parents proud, only one problem with that, my parents are always proud of me. As much as I may have spent my life hearing this it wasn’t until I became a mother myself that I became to grasp how strong a mother’s love really is. It made me reflect back on my own life and wonder does my mom really get enough credit?

Through every decision I have made in my life, good or bad, my mom has been the one to pick me up and put me back together, she has been my strength and my support. She has taught me everything she knows and honestly I don’t think I have given her enough credit. Becoming a mom myself, opened my eyes to a whole new light.

I have always been the type to do things myself, my mom even teases me that when I was little I used to say, “do by self, do by self!” So when I had my son it was only natural to want to do everything myself, I didn’t need help from anyone because if I admitted I needed help from everyone then I thought it meant I was a failure and couldn’t handle being a mom.

So I continued to reject help that was being offered and attempted to do it all on my own. I would wake up go to work, get home go to school, then make dinner and do homework, all while trying to spend time with my son. Well then came a week where I needed help with my son and my mom offered to watch him for a week, at least I was hesitant because it was allowing someone else to be in charge of my son and admitting I needed help.

Then I took a step back and remembered what my mom said, there comes a point when you can’t do it all and being a strong woman means admitting that you do need help and taking it when its offered. So I accepted the help that my mom was offering. And realized that she spent her life raising me and I think I turned out okay so why would I think anything different of her taking care of my son.

After my mom having my son for week I realized how many little things are involved in raising a child. And here was my mom willing to stop her life for a week to take care of my newborn to help me out. That is pretty amazing isn’t it! Afterwards I started thinking, does Maj really get enough credit … I don’t think she ever got enough credit for being my mom and now I don’t think she gets enough credit for being Maj (Grandma).

So mommy this one is for you… thank you for everything you do. I am only where I am in my life because of you and someday if Cayden looks back and thinks I am half as amazing as you then my life will be complete. You’re an incredible mother and maj. I love you mommy!!

Are there people in your life that you don’t think get enough credit?

2 responses to “Does Maj (Grandma) Get Enough Credit?

  • Jennifer

    It’s amazing how we get an extra appreciation for our parents after we have children of our own. We suddenly realize just what it means to be a parent. I’ve had many teary moments since I had my little girl where I would pick up the phone, call my mom, and tell her just how amazing I think she is.

    Congratulations on the newest member of your family… your son is beautiful.

  • jessplassmeyer

    Jennifer- thanks for the comment! Once you become a parent your whole changed and the way you see things change. Being a mom is the best thing in the world!

Leave a Reply

