My Baby is Sick … I Think?

How do you know when your baby is sick and when they are just tired and fussy?  As a new mom every little noise my son made I was rushing to him and checking every little part of him.  When he sneezed I raced to the internet to see if that meant anything.  When he was eating too much or too little or slept too long or not enough I was on the phone with the pediatrician.

After a month of doing this I realized that I cannot stop my life to monitor every noise and move that my baby makes.  My pediatrician (who is amazing and patience with me!) recommended, “What to Expect the First Year.”  This book is amazing, it has all sorts of answers for all the silly questions I have.

I have now come to except the fact that my baby is going to get sick and that is not always a bad thing, he needs to build up his immunities so he doesn’t spend his entire life sick.  I do everything I can to help protect him from germs and keep him healthy but even with all that he experienced his first sickness.  He got bronchitis at 8 weeks old, which was super scary for me as a mom. 

 I got scared that he got sick because I didn’t call the doctor soon enough or because I took him outside without enough layers.  After talking to the doctor and talking to other moms I learned that all moms, especially first time moms face my fears about their child getting sick.  So if you find yourself in my shoes wanting to call the doctor for every little noise that your child makes know that you aren’t alone!  And you won’t be label as that crazy mom! You have to learn to accept the fact that no matter how much you want to protect your baby you can’t protect them from everything, like the sick bugs that are running around!

Do you experience the same things?  Let me know your thoughts!

photo credit

Leave a Reply

