Maternity Leave is Over…Already?

After working 50 plus hours for the last five years I was suddenly faced with a 7 week vacation, what ever was I going to do during those 7 weeks.  As I was finishing my last day at work before my maternity leave started I told my boss that I would be back before the 7 weeks was up.  I was thinking there is no way I can not work for 7 weeks, no possible way.

Then the day came where I became a mother to a beautiful baby boy, I could not get enough of him.  The thought of work seemed so distance and the thought of returning seemed even farther away.  Here I was someone who had been career oriented since the day I graduated college and now I was not wanting to return to work.

When the day came where I had to go back to work, I cried, I did not want to leave my son.  My dreams seemed so far away and the ladder to becoming a CFO seemed to be falling.  After the first day back I realized that I too can have my dreams and still be a great mother.

I am sure that I am not the only mother who has had to return from maternity and had the fear and anxiety in doing it.  So my advice to mothers who have been in my situation is to allow yourself to grieve and process the emotions of separation, they are completely natural.  Know you are not the only mom in the world who is wondering every minute how your child is or the only one calling every hour to make sure they are okay. 

Set a timeframe for yourself to allow yourself to deal with change and feel the sadness separation can bring.  Once you have reach your timeframe you are not allowed to feel sad anymore, know that to be a great mother you must have your own dreams.  And know it will never be easy to leave your child it just becomes more bearable.

What are your experiences with having to go back to work?  What helped?  What made it harder? Share your thoughts!

5 responses to “Maternity Leave is Over…Already?

  • Jessica D Torres

    It is very hard to go back to work after maternity leave. After my first child I went back to work full time but I found that I worked less overtime and was not as focused on my job. After my second child I couldn’t imagine going back to a full time job. Luckily, we were financially stable enough so that I could quit my job and stay home with the kids. It was a very hard decision but I felt it was best for me. Good advice on how to deal with going back to work and I hope you find some balance between work and home.

    Jessica

  • jessplassmeyer

    Jessica – thanks for the comment! Leaving one baby is hard enough I cant imagine leaving two! – J

  • Stephanie

    Jessica,

    Wow this was such a nice remnider of why i do what I do. I too remember when I headed back to my sales job after my first child! I now have a 2nd, and a job that is a bit easier than my old sales gig. My children are now 3 &4, and although there are days I don’t mind leaving them, my work and my purpose make it THAT much sweeter when I pick them up at the ednof the day!
    I hope you continue to share these stories. It certainly helps us Mom’s who do it all (FT job or not)!

  • Tiffany Brown

    Jessica – I totally agree with you. While I am not opposed to the idea of being a stay-at-home mom, for many it is unrealistic so you have to make the best of the situation and serve as a role model for your children. This story comes to mind whenver I have felt guilty about going back to work – http://ontheedgeofreason.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/25/. I also think finding a good day care makes all of the difference in the world, I know my little one is getting fabulous care and all the love in the world. That certainly makes it much easier to go to work each day.

  • jessplassmeyer

    Stephanie – Thanks for leaving a comment! When I get home and see my sweet baby’s smile you are so right it makes the long work day so worth it!

    Tiffany – thanks for the link to the good article! As must as I would love o stay home with my baby everyday as you say its not always realistic! And knowing he is in good hands makes me feel much better while I’m at work!

Leave a Reply

